Skip to content
Initial Look into the Chakras header

Introduction to the Chakras

I’ve been thinking about writing this article for a couple of days now. I’ve never claimed to be an expert on chakras, but I have been studying them for around 15 years. I remember the first time I decided to look into it I was in my late twenties. I had heard it mentioned that while reading tarot cards you could recognize if a certain color showed up, what chakra was associated to it.


Just as my tarot study does today, it took me down a path of learning something new. I thought I was going to find something very specific, because as a topic they’re pretty widely known and studied. But I realized as with a lot of spirituality chakras had a general understanding and then each person could really dive deep to find out how they could connect to them.


So today I will share with you my interpretation of what chakras are. I’m a very visual person so I’m going to try to describe this visually. And who knows maybe you’ll even get a diagram by me. I think of chakras as these points within our body, kind of like a gate. At these points energy collects and depending upon whether that energy is able to easily flow through to the next energy point or not determines the health of that chakra.


When you look further back into the history of chakras, you will find it once upon a time it was stated that there were only five energy points. But the chakras that are most often talked about today, State seven. Seven energy points that start right at our tailbone and extend all the way up through the top of our head. I’ve often wondered why it does not start from our feet, and my only acceptable answer is you will often find that people sit to meditate and it is our ass and that connects to the ground it extends up through the top of her head.

Chakra Chart

Over the coming weeks we will explore each and every chakra in more depth and detail, to start though here is a very general understanding:

  • The root chakra. The chakra is represented by the color red and is associated with our safety. In Psychology the thing I associate this to is Maslow’s basic human needs. 
  • The sacral chakra. The chakra is represented by the color orange and is associated with our boundaries and creativity. I believe that if we have a solid boundary set and respected, our ability to create is endless.
  • The solar plexus chakra. The chakra is represented by the color yellow and is associated with our ego. It is this chakra where we will replay the stories of what we should be.
  • The heart chakra. This chakra is represented by the color green or the color pink. This is where love for others as well as love for our self radiates.
  • The throat chakra. The chakra is represented by the color blue. This is where we learn to speak up for ourselves and to express the truth.
  • The third eye chakra. This chakra is represented by the color indigo. Arthur die is our connection to our Spirit guides in our intuition.
  • The crown chakra. This chakra is represented by the color purple. You may also see it represented by the color of white,  gold or even the rainbow. Is through the chakra that we connect to the entire universe in the universe and connects to us.


Each of these chakras represents a different energy point within our body. There are different actions that we can take through mental, physical, and spiritual means to help us keep the chakras open and strong so that they support is life filled with peace, joy and happiness. Over the coming weeks, we will continue to explore each of these chakras individually so stay tuned.

In the meantime, feel free to share with us in the comments below any experience or knowledge that you have with the chakras. Do you have any unique Viewpoint? Do you incorporate the chakras into your spiritual practice? If so, let us know down below!

3 thoughts on “Introduction to the Chakras”

  1. So if you are balanced your chakras will be the color they are supposed to be in each spot? What if it’s not balanced? Will it just have no color ?

    1. If you are referring to picturing the energy of each chakra – yes. They will typically be a beautiful, solid image of that energy at each energy center!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *